21 Day Challenge…

by meganlebo

Back in January I began the Iva May chronological bible study reading with some of the ladies in my church.  I have never actually read through the Bible from cover to cover so I was (and still am) excited about reading God’s Word in its historical context and in its entirety.  We meet corporately each week and receive teaching and engage with the text through discussion.

While I myself am a bit behind and trying to catch up, the group has now finished Deuteronomy and is entering into the book of Joshua.  Through my studying I have been so incredibly humbled by how similar my own life is compared with that of the Israelites.  It can often be so easy to judge them and wonder how they could continue complain and worship other idols when God Himself dwelt among their midst in a cloud by day and a pillar of fire by night.

At last nights session I became incredibly aware of just how much I complain and just how many idols are present in my own life.  I, like the Israelites, have wandered in confusion in a state of wilderness and have, more times than I care to admit, become angry and blamed God for my own disobedience.

One of the things that God continued to ask of His people was to remember.  Remember when I brought you out ofEgypt.  Remember when I parted theRed Sea.  In our distress and our confusion He calls us to remember the great things that He has done for us.  Remember the blessings He has bestowed upon us over and over and over.

At the end of the evening we were issued a challenge.  She asked us to write down, over the next 21 days, 1,000 things that we are grateful for.  If you have never tried to come up with things to be thankful for you will find that it becomes somewhat difficult after the mention of God, The Bible, my family, and my job.  We live in a day and time where we simply do not slow down long enough to really take into account the great and many blessings that God has given us every single day.

So I have decided to take on this challenge and every day, for the next 21 days I will have pick a theme for the day and list 48 things for that day that I am thankful for.  I am excited about this and I hope that you will join me in just taking time during the course of your day to thank God for everything He has done for us.

