Our Crossroads…

by meganlebo

We are at a crossroads.  Our nation.  Our world.  Our lives.

I have been watching closely, praying.  The urgency and anxiety experienced by the people during this election has seemed unprecedented.  There are issues that hang in the balance that I believe are more grave than social agendas and demands.  I believe this choice, this year, will change the course of our nation forever.  There are things that, if put into motion, cannot be reversed, will not be reversed.

Yet despite my own anxiety and the anxiety of others around me I have arrived at a state of peace.  This election is decided.  The future course of our nation has been set.  The outcome will show to us whether God has decided to act in mercy or in judgment.

It is so difficult to watch the news and discern what might happen, which path we as a nation have decided take.  There are so many half-truths, misleadings, and outright dishonesty among the media and the candidates that it is hard to see and vote with a clear head.  Each one claiming the other is lying.

In the midst of such confusion there is only one source in which we are able to find direction, comfort, and peace.

God’s Word.

Proverbs 21:1 says:

“The king’s heart is like channels of water in the hand of the Lord.  He turns it wherever He wishes.”

We are also instructed by is Word in 2 Chronicles 7:14:

“(If) My people who are called by My name humble themselves and pray and seek My face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, will forgive their sin and will heal their land.”

We are being called to repentance as a nation.  We have been blessed by God to have lived and grown up in a nation that has been civilized, wealthy, and free.  We know what the fall of a nation looks like.  We have history that bears witness to that progression.  We have the freedom to choose but ultimately the times belong to God.  He sees and He knows.

Therefore I am at peace.  And in that peace I echo the prophet Daniel:                                                                                                 
“Let the name of God be blessed forever and ever, for wisdom and power belong to Him.  It is He who changes the times and epochs; He removes kings and establishes kings; He gives wisdom to wise men and knowledge to men of understanding.  It is he who reveals the profound and hidden things; He knows what is in the darkness, and the light dwells with Him.  To You, O God of my fathers, I give thanks and praise…”

 

 

 

